Magazines extending beyond flush with the base of a grip

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ty Hamby's picture
Ty Hamby
Offline
Joined: Feb. 23rd, 2011
Magazines extending beyond flush with the base of a grip

Take note to the last sentence in Robert Rays clarification.

Question: Regarding magazines extending beyond flush with the base of the grip. In the specific case, a Florida shooter routinely shoots a Glock 19, but uses Glock 17 magazines. At a recent match, he was challenged as to the legality of using magazines that extend below the gripframe of the pistol. Of course, a Glock 19 with a Glock 17 magazine inserted easily fits the IDPA box. I don't know why he likes to do this, but is there any problem with this practice?
 
Answer: If the gun fits the box with the magazine inserted then it is legal to use. They still have to comply with the division criteria for max rounds in a gun and if the magazine holds less than division capacity they can not mix mags to suit the stage. If they use a nine round magazine, then they can only load nine rounds in all their magazines even if one will hold ten.

Thank you,

Robert Ray

International Defensive Pistol Association

Note the part in bold. I have noticed shooters combining 7 round magazines with 8 round magazines in CDP. This clarification tells me that doing so could result in a FTDR if if done intentionally to gain a competitive advantage on a given stage. At the very least a PE if accidental. If a stage had one popper and 3 targets, go to slide lock vs a forced reload with retention it would appeal to some to use a 7 rounder on this style of stage. Watch out Ill be watching you. <jk>
 

 

mgroce
Offline
Joined: May. 13th, 2011
I'm not Sure if I ever messed

I'm not Sure if I ever messed up on this or not but there was the potential.

I have the XD sub-compact and have 2 each 9 round mags, and 2each 10 round mags one of which does not have the small grip extension on it(looks kinda funny stcking out of the grip but I can't tell the difference).

 

I guess I am buying some more 10 round mags. At the classifier I was thinking I needed about 10 more mags to keep from slowing up the flow anyway.

B

mgroce
Offline
Joined: May. 13th, 2011
But I  sure had fun Thanks to

But I  sure had fun Thanks to all who were patient and helpful.

 

Mike

NVSA Staff's picture
NVSA Staff
Offline
Joined: Feb. 8th, 2011
I wouldn't worry about owning

I wouldn't worry about owning more than 3 (10) round magazines. The classifier is a strange animal all by itself. Having 5 magazines helps speed up the stage. It is not required. 3 mags is the most you are allowed to use during a regular club match. One in the gun and 2 on the belt. That's all you get to use.

But if you want to stick that 9 rounder in your belt you should have all magazines loaded to 9 rounds with your gun starting at 10 rounds. Does that make sense?

"If you plan to leave early, please arrive early to help set up. If you arrive late, please stay late to help take down. If you plan to arrive late and leave early, please do your shooting someplace else."

mgroce
Offline
Joined: May. 13th, 2011
Yes I understand the way the

Yes I understand the way the rules are on this. and I get it where people may change up to gain an advantage.

I will go with all tens in the future for matches (but for real concealment the shorter mag conceals so much better)

I can use one of the 9 rounders as a Barney mag, and shove in my pocket for stowage as an empty mag right?

 

Mike

NVSA Staff's picture
NVSA Staff
Offline
Joined: Feb. 8th, 2011
Yes! You got it. Just make it

Yes! You got it. Just make it one of your barney mags.

I also see no problem in using the 9 rounders during the classifier to speed things up between strings.

"If you plan to leave early, please arrive early to help set up. If you arrive late, please stay late to help take down. If you plan to arrive late and leave early, please do your shooting someplace else."

Log in to post comments